Wesley Smith.png
Wesley Smith
Director of Missions 



Jackie Lawrence

Int. Office Manager



Wesley Smith began as our Director Of Missions on Monday, November 12, 2020. He comes to us from serving the churches of the Greater Cleveland County Baptist Association as their Associational Missionary for four and a half years. Wesley has previously served at Sandy Run Baptist and Boiling Springs Baptist Church for a combined 17 years of service in Cleveland County. 


He is a graduate of Gardner-Webb University and the M. Christopher White School of Divinity at Gardner-Webb University. Wesley has been married to his wife Bonnie for twenty years. They have a daughter Avery, and a dog, Lillie. 


Wesley loves serving the churches and the community. He has served as a Surrogate Parent with Cleveland County Schools, a Chaplain with the Cleveland County Sheriff's Office and Shanghai Volunteer Fire Department, along with several other community boards and service groups and is currently serving as the NC Highway Patrol Chaplain for District F-3, Caldwell and Watauga counties. 


He enjoys the sports, the outdoors, golf, hiking, fishing, and hunting. He also enjoys reading and listening to podcasts about leadership, church revitalization, and discipleship.  


“The church is God’s plan A to reveal himself to the world! We’re better together.” - Wesley Smith

Jackie has served the TFBA for many years in different volunteer capacities. Her most recent role being the chair of the Missions Team. Jackie served as the Ministry Assistant for Greenway Baptist for more than 30 years! We are thankful that she has agree to serve as our interim. 

Jackie and her husband James are members at Pleasant Grove. They enjoy camping, traveling and serving Jesus together! 

Leta photo for website.jpg


Leta Councill



Our Executive Council is composed of our Associational Officers, the chairs of the Missions, Administrative, Church Strengthening, and Finance Teams, and two cluster representatives from each of our four Congregational Clusters. 

Associational Officers


Rev. David Cooper, Moderator

Rev. Bud Russell , Vice-Moderator

Jennifer Waldorf, Clerk

Rev. Joe London, Treasurer​​

Church Strengthening Team 

John Mark Brown, Chair
Jason Powers
Burl Greene
Missions Team

Jackie Lawrence, Chair
Rick Coffey
Chris Hughes
Administrative Team

Ben Bolick, Chair
Lowell Younce
Wayne Randall

Finance Team 

Leta Council, Chair
Denny Norris
Lottie Oliver
Clusters with representatives- 2022_edited.jpg